State Capital Group - Success Stories


News from the Network
August 2017


John Lund of Utah member firm Parsons Behle & Latimer was sworn in as president of the Utah State Bar at its annual convention, which was held last month in Sun Valley, Idaho. He will serve a one-year term, during which he hopes to educate the public about how Utah’s 10,000 active lawyers can be more helpful and affordable to them. Mr. Lund’s practice is focused on litigation throughout the Intermountain West, where he has successfully tried cases involving ski resorts, real estate, products liability and catastrophic injuries. He recently concluded several years of service as a member of the Utah Judicial Council and continues to chair the advisory committee on evidence for the Utah Supreme Court.


Raj Anand, a senior partner at Ontario member firm WeirFoulds and Bencher of the Law Society of Upper Canada, has been named one of Canadian Lawyer’s Top 25 Most Influential Lawyers for 2017 in the Human Rights, Advocacy and Criminal Law category. Mr. Anand has championed human rights in Canada for more than 30 years. He previously served as chief commissioner of the Ontario Human Rights Commission and founding chair of the Ontario Human Rights Legal Support Center. Most recently, he was appointed by the Law Society of Upper Canada to chair a major research and policy initiative, aimed at confronting issues of systemic racism in the legal and paralegal professions and advancing the public interest.


Former U.S. Attorney Pamela Marsh has joined Florida member firm Ausley McMullen. Ms. Marsh was nominated by President Obama in 2010 to serve as U.S. Attorney, and was subsequently confirmed by the U.S. Senate. She served as the leading federal prosecutor for Florida’s 23 panhandle counties, from Alachua to Escambia, overseeing offices in Gainesville, Tallahassee, Panama City and Pensacola. She was the first woman to serve as U.S. Attorney for the Northern District of Florida. Ms. Marsh joins former Florida Attorney General Richard Doran and former Senior Assistant Attorney General Douglas Kilby as part of the firm’s corporate compliance and government investigations team. She will also focus on significant cases involving white-collar criminal defense, along with partner Jimmy Judkins.


Minnesota member firm Larkin Hoffman’s land use practice launched its North Star Land Use blog earlier this month. The blog’s primary contributors include Peter Coyle, Bill Griffith, Jacob Steen and Matthew Bergeron. North Star Land Use will identify and discuss land use issues and trends arising in Minnesota and the Upper Midwest with a perspective that is grounded in broad, substantial experience. In recent posts, the authors have written about obstacles that developers face, how property owners may be impacted by a recent decision by the Wisconsin Supreme Court, possible zoning changes in St. Paul and amendments to the Metropolitan Council’s regional plan. To read the blog, click here.


Rhonda Tobin of Connecticut member firm Robinson+Cole has been named by Benchmark Litigation one of its Top 250 Women in Litigation for 2017. For more than 25 years, Ms. Tobin has concentrated her practice in the areas of insurance and reinsurance coverage, extra-contractual liability, and professional liability. She is one of only three female litigators in the state of Connecticut named to this list this year. Ms. Tobin represents both primary and excess insurers in coverage litigation and reinsurance disputes. She has significant trial experience in both state and federal courts. In addition to being a member of the firm’s insurance and reinsurance group, Ms. Tobin is co-chair of the litigation section and a member of the firm's management committee.


William Dolan and Nicholas Nybo have joined Rhode Island member firm Adler Pollock & Sheehan in the the firm’s litigation group. Mr. Dolan joins as counsel, while Mr. Nybo joins as an associate. Mr. Dolan is a trial attorney practicing in commercial litigation, professional ethics and malpractice, bankruptcy, and construction law. His clients include state and governmental agencies, major cities and towns, Fortune 500 companies, hedge funds, and national retail chains. Mr. Nybo is a commercial trial and appellate litigator licensed to practice law in Rhode Island, Massachusetts and Connecticut. He has experience with private and public contract disputes, state and federal court receiverships, municipal pension litigation, election law disputes and constitutional tort litigation. His professional interests include employment law, specifically First Amendment and whistleblower litigation.